A tip for processing real snare drums

demirichris

Jul 16, 2009
Indianapolis Indiana
Usually I am the dude on here looking for tips and asking questions, but I think I may have found an interesting way to process real snare drums that I haven't seen on here yet.

Take this just as advice or something to try if you have the same problem as I was, as I am by no means a pro...but anyhow on to the point:

Have you ever been processing a real snare drum track, getting your eq and compression just right so that every thing sounds choice - except for every once and awhile there is an awful "spitting" type sound on the hardest hits of the drum? Well, I was reading up on the emperical labs distressor that everyone loves on drums and noticed that it processes with a desser after compression to help with this problem. I can't afford one of those at the moment...so I used my normal eq and compession chain on my snare drum track and then threw a desser plugin after that set with a threshold low enough to just get those really annoying spitting sounds from the hardest hits. Instantly I noticed a huge difference in the smoothness and evenness of my snare sound. After the desser, you can eq and compress again if you would like.

Anyone else ever do this?

Usually I am the dude on here looking for tips and asking questions, but I think I may have found an interesting way to process real snare drums that I haven't seen on here yet.

Take this just as advice or something to try if you have the same problem as I was, as I am by no means a pro...but anyhow on to the point: