Snare: Level out snare hits. Inconsistent hitter. (Real Drums)

hkollner

Oct 5, 2008
Hi Guys,

We recently tracked drums for our album. Only thing is that the drummer was hitting the snare with inconsistent velocity.

I have tried compression and sample replacement to level out the snare hits but it does not seem to work.

Do you guys have any suggestion on how to even out the level on hits?

You can hear what I mean here:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/1794391/Shadows (Rough Drums Mix).mp3

NEW TRACK WITH BASS RIDER:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/1794391/Shadows (Rough Drums Only) 2.mp3

I'm a noob when it comes to real drums as this is my first time mixing real drums. :ill:

Thanks.

Sounds like you should manually sample replace the weak hits. To bring them up by squashing down everything else with compression would be overkill.

Bass rider on fast can work kinda well. Although it may sound weird if you use only the live snare track. If sample replacement isn't leveling out the hits it could be a mix issue. Can't listen ATM but ill update if I get a chance

Bass rider on fast can work kinda well. Although it may sound weird if you use only the live snare track. If sample replacement isn't leveling out the hits it could be a mix issue. Can't listen ATM but ill update if I get a chance

Dude........ This works like a charm! This definitley goes into my "Drum troubleshooting 101" document! I blended with samples and it sounds a bit harsh though. Nothing a little tweaking won't fix. I'll just play around with the bass rifer output volume and attack settings. I have found that the slow setting works better and makes it less harsh.

This is seriously an awesome tip right here.

Thanks man!