Noise. How do you deal with it?

Behind

Sep 3, 2008
Hi guys.

Once again a newbie question... I'm trying to record an acoustic guitar by micing it with a SM57 through a tone port but I have serious noise problems. The noise that I mean is that "FFFFFFFFFF" in the background that makes the take sound similar to a vinil.

Using eq doesnt solve the problem since I need a huge amount of it to get rid of the annoying noise.

I've never tried this before and it makes me wonder if it's a mic issue or the room treatement... Any advice or information would be really appreciated!

If you don't know what I'm talking about, here you have a link to hear the thing.

TIA

I don't have a lot of experience recording acoustics....but I know you can use noise reducers in some audio software. Capture the portion before you actually start playing so the software knows how much background noise there is prior to the instrument...then apply it the the whole section and it should reduce the amount of background noise behind the instrument. It's pretty effective from my experience...although I use it for vocals...not acoustics....but it's the same idea....

Hi guys.

Once again a newbie question... I'm trying to record an acoustic guitar by micing it with a SM57 through a tone port but I have serious noise problems. The noise that I mean is that "FFFFFFFFFF" in the background that makes the take sound similar to a vinil.

Using eq doesnt solve the problem since I need a huge amount of it to get rid of the annoying noise.

I've never tried this before and it makes me wonder if it's a mic issue or the room treatement... Any advice or information would be really appreciated!

If you don't know what I'm talking about, here you have a link to hear the thing.

TIA