Nooby question about micing a guitar amp

looder

New Metal Member
Nov 18, 2009
Hey guys!
I'm new to this whole mixing thing so I have some noobish questions... :p
Since I'm new and I currently I don't have the money to spend on a good stuff I'm using what I have.
I have 2 mics, a SM58 that for a reason when I try to use it on the amp, giving me a sound of like it is being recored through a radio, and a Samson C03.
I want to mic my guitar amp and to get a nice distortion which is something I cannot achieve for a reason.
Can you guys help me out with some tips on which on of my microphone's is better (the Dynamic or the Condenser) for guitar recording.
And how should I place the mic on the amp and so on.....

Thanks in advanced!
Elad.

take the screen off the 58 and place it right where the surround meets the cone of the speaker, wouldn't even bother with the samson

Try a combination of the 2 mics.

Search the forum for some cab micing techniques. There are plenty out there.

For starts:

-Use the SM58 close micing the cab. 1-2 inches away from the grille. Put it a little off center of the dust cap.
-Use the condenser for brightness, on another speaker, dead center. You can choose not to use this mic. I haven't had any good results doing this, but other people have? Definitely use the dynamic though.

What cab/amp do you have? That is going to be your biggest "tone factor".

The standard around here for recording metal is..

ACTIVE PICK UPS -> TUBESCREAMER/MAXON OD808 -> PEAVEY 5150/6505+ -> MESA 4x12 -> SM57 -> INTERFACE

Just make sure you get a good tone from the beginning. Don't try to fix it in the mix, because it won't happen.

Again.. Search the forum. There is TONS of good information here.

:headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang:

Cheers, and good luck.

^^

Gotta love them standards right hehehehe..
Generally what has already been said though, mic about 1inch from the grill usually, at the edge of the cone/ cap meeting.