Not enough energy in screams and growls

Rul0r

New Metal Member
Feb 28, 2013
Hi Folks,
I'm a hobby producer from Germany. I have mixed some rather nice sounding eps and at the moment i'm mixing an ep for a project of a friend. It's basicly swedish deathmetal with a lady on the vocals.

While mixing the tracks i stumbeld upon a problem i discoverd recently with a few other singers. But this time i'm just i charge for mixing. The recording was done a few month back and i have no chance to get some more takes under my authority.

Because she is a professional melodic singer and she never screamed or shouted before, she did the best she could, but her screams are more or less just whispers with bit grunt or so. The link shows 2- 16 sec clips. One dry and one with a little processing (first approach, not happy).
Currently i'm trying different eq's and saturations vsts. But i'm not happy with the results i achieve.
My problem is, that when i push the lvl you can hear that the screams have no energy but if i place it "behind" the mix it's barely noticeable.
Any suggestions?

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/jte26acpdeicmi1/mSAa-f2uAc

Thx
Cheers
Rul0r

The truth is that I always say in cases like that: The sound is created in front of the mic not afterwards. You can't polish a turd. I mean there's nothing wrong with the way it is recorded, signal is good. But the performance lacks the energy. you can't do much about it, expect blowing it out of proportion, like distorting it more like with the Sound Toys Decapitator or similar things. But all that will not magically enhance the lack of power. With vocals especially, there is nothing to put samples over like it's the case with drums.