Official buying advice thread

ThrashKing

New Metal Member
Dec 14, 2006
hey guys, i'm a novice player but I want a guitar that is decent and not too expensive. My current budget for all my gear is roughly $2000 give or take a couple hundred.

here's what I currently plan on getting:

$1,250
Fender American Deluxe Strat HSS With Deluxe Locking Tremolo Maple
guitar

$600
Marshall MG100HDFX/MG412 Slant Cab Half Stack Package
amp

$150
DigiTech RP300A Guitar Multi-Effects Pedal
effects

any advice or changes i should make? is there anything else I need to get started up?

thanks in advance,

TK

The links don't work for me...

I'm not sure GC is the best place to shop from, but I'm not an american, so it's hard for me to make any other suggestions. All I know is that people on the forums I hang on try to avoid GC and Musicians Friend.

Secondly, I suppose you're looking at a Fender Strat to be able to play more than metal? My initial reaction is that for metal alone, there are just as nice guitars to be had for half that price. For instance the Jackson DK2M...they are quality guitars made in Japan, and they go for around $600 new.

I don't know how good those Marshalls are, but I don't think buying an american made guitar and then a cheap amp made in India rhymes very well? No offense meant - just stating my thoughts here. The older Marshall Valvestates (8100 series) were at least made in the UK and can be had for very cheap these days.

I'm not really a fan of amp modelling, so I can't comment on the effects unit. If you find a decent amp, you will probably want to either disable the amp modelling in the FX unit, or bypass the preamp stage in your amp.