'official live sound thread'

pikachu69

mixomatic 2000
Jun 7, 2010
New Zealand
It has been mentioned a few times that there should be a live thread so here it is. There are pleanty of live engineers on here (myself included) so this can be the place for all those important live sound questions.

I have been doing live sound for over 10 years and have done literally thousands of gigs from every style of music. Metal, rock, blues, jazz, reggae,52 piece brass big bands, ukelele orchestras, Aboriginal bush bands, all sorts or cultural world music from Japan, Africa and others from the smallest systems to full stadium gigs running over 40 channels on desks both analogue and digital.
I hope all other live sound engineers will check back often and help answer any questions that are posted.

So, get asking those questions guys!

Cheers.

Great initiative, although what I'd personally like to see would be a live sound sub-forum. One thread for discussing a quite vast area seems like it could get very messy very fast.

Anyway, I also work a lot with live shows, not as much as you though. My main thing has always been working in the studio, but I'm working more and more live, and nowadays I do FOH for Watain on all their shows. I occasionally work with other bands too but between studio work and Watain shows there's not much time over for anything else. :)

Another live guy here. I mainly do small enough venues but I get alot of work. I normally do 4+ shows a week. Did 11 gigs in 6 days last week! It's tough going at the minute as there's alot of gigs but not much money floating around so I'm doing more work for less money per gig than I did 2 years ago and if I try to stick with my old prices then I simply will not get work.