Ordering a Carvin DC727, so many options...

beyond dead

heavy metal dad \m/
Sep 26, 2007
peterborough, ontario, canada
So I have a couple recording gigs lined up, and I was debating what to spend the proceeds on. I have decided (although it is not the most practical decision)
that I am going to bite the bullet and order a custom 7 string from carvin.

So Im sure I want a 2 pickup guitar with a fixed bridge. I have settled on a maple neck with birdseye fret board. I am going to go with the rounded body sides.

the part that is kinda hard for me to decide is which type of wood to use for the body. the reason I am unsure of which wood to use, is because I have little experience with body woods other than mahogany and basswood (the later of which all my guitars are all made of) I`m not sure what tonal characteristics alder, swamp ash or maple, walnut and koa have when used for the body of a solidbody electric.

I like how quilted maple tops look, and I enjoy bright guitar tones, which I think is an attribute of maple tops.

I am not looking to get a whole shitload of extra features. as you can see I prefer a fairly simple guitar.

I also am not sure how the carvin pickups will sound

so basically I am looking for a rundown of what tonal characteristics each body wood has, and possibly a review of carvins workmanship, playability and quality of the pick ups.

thanks in advance!

thanks dude! I will learn to utilize the virtue of patience in the future.

interesting piece. basically just says that heavier woods are less muddy, and more articulated.

im thinking a mahogany body is what I would prefer. with a maple neck and birdseye maple fretboard.

I would love to hear the testimonial of a dc727 owner!