Paul Bostaph's gear

Ken Kaniff

Jul 19, 2004
P.O.L.A.N.D.
Another Paul thread. This time around a technical question.
TL, if Paul can't answer directly, could you ask him to expalin why he uses two separate drum kicks instead of one bass drum with a double pedal?

Different drummers must have different reasons, what is his?

I'm a drummer and I use one bass drum with a double pedal. This is because:
a) two drums are more expensive ten one (call me a rocket scientist :) )
b) one drum kick is easier to transpost
c) one drum kick is easier to tune

I suppose Paul doesn't have any of the above problems.

Ken Kaniff said:
I'm a drummer and I use one bass drum with a double pedal. This is because:
a) two drums are more expensive ten one (call me a rocket scientist :) )
b) one drum kick is easier to transpost
c) one drum kick is easier to tune

I suppose Paul doesn't have any of the above problems.
Exactly. He's a pro, he uses the best, and has people to tune them for him, and transport them. :tickled:

I don't think Testament's ever had a drummer that uses a single kick w/ double pedal.

This is what Paul was using not that long ago .... From Tama's site ....

TAMA

drums:

SC MAPLE

color:

CHERRY BLACK

sizes:

(2) 18X22 Bass Drums, 8X10, 9X12, 10X14 Mounted Toms, 16X16, 16X18 Floor Toms, 14X20 Gong Bass, 6.5 X14 Maple Snare, 3.25 X 14 Bell Brass Snare

hardware:

HTW89, HH95XH, HTC97, HS90, HC94B, HC104TB

throne:

HT410/55L

pedal:

HP900P

hi-hat stand:

HH905

another big thing is that it sounds much better, because its not as hard on one drum, it wears our the drum heads much faster when using a double pedal also, and two good pedals beats one good double pedal anyday with response and tightness in my opinion

METALinVEINS said:
another big thing is that it sounds much better, because its not as hard on one drum