Phase & time alignment

Jevil

Pro Evolution Fucker
Apr 18, 2006
Basque Country
www.soulitude-web.com
What is the difference between Time aligning and Phase aligning?

I often have problems to blend 2 mics (or 2 impulses).

I try to align tracks by zooming the wave and matching 2 tracks but it still sounds weird, hollow or like a chorus effect.
I also tweak the DAW's time delay option trying to find the spot where both tracks sounds good together, but no success.

Now, as an example I have a SM57ed track wich doesn't soudn bad, but I want to give it more fatness. I'm trying to blend it with the same amp (FX send) but impulses instead of mic... Voxengo Boogex and Lecab, both have a phase knob for aligning, but I can't make both tracks sound right.
I mean, both tracks sounds good independently but togteher they don't, I'm not able to blend them properly... I fucking hate that chorus effect.

What is the difference between Time aligning and Phase aligning?

I'm no expert but I think the difference is that time alignment means moving say, the room mic track to the beginning when the close mic track starts. Anybody whos recorded something with a close microphone and a far microphone knows that there will be a short delay on the far microphone, simply because its farther away and takes slightly more time for the sound to hit that microphone.

Phase aligning you would keep that natural delay from the room mic but just make sure the waveform goes up and down in the same places as the other mic just like regular phase but with the natural delay.

Thats what makes sense to me.. i could be wrong:loco:

Yes and no. Time aligning means that but it includes phase aligning at the same time.