Poverty

speed

Nov 19, 2001
Visit site
Poverty is such an interesting paradox in American society. On one hand we have such tremendous wealth, and access to most jobs is open to those who have the ambition to attain them irregardless of class or background. Conversely there are few decent jobs for the impovershed, and public education--especially for poorer school districts--is atrocious. The big question though I have is whether our current rates of poverty are entirely endemic and eternal. That no matter what the social program or economic assistances, that these current poor will remain poor-except for those cases of the intelligent or ambitious poor. Thus, is it silly to even bother with American poverty and the impovershed? Why bother anymore?

This sounds extreme, but I used to work as a pest control technician in college, and i had the great priviledge of spending my days in section 8 housing and slums killing roaches and rats. Apart from social services, I suppose I am one of the few who have been in these peoples apartments--and they didnt clean up in anticipation for me.

Lemme tell you what I used to see. 90% dont understand the concept of cleaning, leaving the most disgusting things on the floor, never cleaning dishes etc--thus breeding thousands of roaches. 75% do not have a job and are collecting child support and other clever gov incentives to barely eek out their existence. Many have large big screeen tvs and newer computers, while living in filth and a bug infested thirty year old mattress. Almost all of the older poor have bibles in plain sight and earmarked. Most are watching talk shows and seem to have cable tv. Most have rooms filled with junk they got for free. They are all mostly nice people, but it is obvious they, nor their children were ever taught basic, basic life lessons we consider common sense. And I didnt even touch on drug and alchohol abuse.