Powerbook Turns Off

Zack Uidl

Feb 4, 2008
Chicago, Illinois
www.zackuidl.com
So here is the deal. When I work on my old powerbook (not for recording) and have it running on battery, it just turns off. It can run take 5 minutes, 15 minutes, or full battery life, which is why it is rather odd to me. I am not that good at understanding how computers work and diagnosing issues with them, but it seems strange that sometimes it will last for the full battery life and others five minutes.

Sometimes it does this when it is at 90 - 100% battery life?!

I do not get a warning saying that I am running on reserve battery or anything at all anymore either. It just turns off completely. Before, it would hibernate or whatever it is called.

Just curious if any of you have run into similar situations. Maybe someone has some insight?

Thanks

I'm GUESSING you need a new battery.

The battery gauge could be wrong due to a faulty battery or the battery may just be unable to supply a steady voltage to the computer.

Same issue here with my last gen iBook, you need a new battery. It'll get to the point (like mine has) where you can't run the laptop at all without it being plugged in. Since I don't need to be portable anymore I just haven't bothered spending the £90 Apple want for a new battery and keep it plugged into the mains.

common issue. actually if its a power book then you actually got good life span out of it. in system profiler you can check the cycle count and full charge capacity. apple only guarantees the battery for 300 cycle counts, so plug er in if ya can. also the protection plans are awesome cause they will ship you a free battery if you are within 300 cycle counts and the computer is under 3 yrs old!