Practice help?

Souls of Black

Thrashing Tempest
Jul 2, 2002
Visit site
Ok, so I just spent 146 min practicing. I really felt, about 60 of that was shit. Dammit, I started playing to radio (prob a dumb idea) they played a rush song and an ozzy song. After those two, I started playing w/o the radio, just me jamming away.

Cool for about 50 miutes, trying all kinds of shit, won't list all, but I was all over so to speak.

Then instead of the Met'nome, I HATE that clicker, I started me drum machine, and started playing along. Son o' Bitch that is so helpful, next 40 min or so, just rocked to a nice beat at 162bpm. I felt that was fast, so good practice? Thoughts?

I am getting my C7 in a week, I need tips... C'mon boardies....Steve? :headbang:

These are the things I do...not sure if it will help

Warm Up - I'll play some wide Trilling exersices and just work my way up and down the neck. i usually do them till i feel a burn. 2-fret trills with my index and middle finger. Then i do the 3-fret trills between my index and ring finger. then 4-fret trill with my index and pinky.

Use Alternate Picking!

I usually use a lot of pentatonic blues scales.

Then to mess around. Ill record a rhythm track and do a solo over the playback.

RECORD YOURSELF! - Improvise and just go crazy - then playback and listen to your strengths and weaknesses. I use this technique a lot. It helps

What i'll do is ill just turn on Winamp too and jam to a bunch of songs by soloin' over them.

Don't spend more then 1 hour on one thing on especially challenging things. Take a break and after awhile come back to it.

Try to make practising fun because if you don't, more then likley you will get ultra pissed and stressed. learning scales can be a bitch sometimes.

For Me Personaly - I do great after i take a few shots of hard liquor. :D :D i don't know why but that just happens with me.

Hope this helps.