PreParty Review

Magius

Nov 19, 2005
Atlanta
Tonight was a great show, and almost everything was perfect. The only thing that wasn't were a couple spotlights, which I think need to be addressed in a different thread. Nevertheless, all four bands showed up with their A-game on IMO.

Theocracy: I was totally unfamiliar with this band before tonight, but I liked what I saw and heard. Definately a fit for the fest over all, and a good way to kick things off.

Circus Maximus: Okay, I'm not a big Prog fan by nature, but I think this band had the best performance of the night judging by audience reaction. A near full house standing ovation at the end. I really didn't get why the lead singer had to spend so much time off stage, but he can damn sure sing, and they sounded great.

Leatherwolf: I had my doubts. I wasn't sure Wade Black could fill Micheal Olivieri's shoes on vox, but he did pretty damn well. It's so unusual for a band's sound to be defined by drums rather than a signature guitar or keyboard, but Dean Roberts is still the heart and soul of the band, and he did a great job tonight.

CircleIICircle: Excellent! Perhaps a bit light on the 1st album, and heavy on the yet unreleased CD. Considering that to my ears "The Middle Of Nowhere" is a digital snoozefest I was a bit apprehensive about the new material. That said, I liked all the new songs they played, and tonight's performance convinced me to buy The Burden Of Truth when it comes out.

Kudos to tonight's sound man too!! Nothing drives me crazier than a bad mix with either lots of feedback, or a muted lead vocals mic. Awsome job on the sound!

Double Kudos to Shane. This wasn't the PP7 Pre-party. This show qualified as PP6.5

Now about those lights....