Problems with bassdrum and bass

M.Lehto

Jun 25, 2002
Any advices how to make both of them to fit on the mix? The whole low end seems to be a mess as the bassdrum and bass doesn't work together that well. I personally like it to be a bit chaos and harsh, but I'd still want to hear every hit by the drum. Any advices, that could be done without sampling the drum?

EDIT - Here's a sample how the mix sounds now: "just can't do it right"

Try reserving the bass drum's frequencies to somewhere around 60 - 80hz and the bass guitar around 80 - 200hz so they don't fight with each other. If you want each bass drum hit to be heard, you could emphasize the transients at around the 3khz area to add more click. Also get roll off the low range frequencies on instruments that don't need it.

Another option is using a compressor with sidechaining, but I'm not experienced with doing that.

a few ideas based on the sample, Did you compress the living hell out of the bass drum, I dont know if thats standard practice for all pro metal/rock AE's but I allways compress it so that my softest hit is as present/loud as my loudest hit, also I like to compress the shit out of the bass guitar too, ussually on a pedal going in. Take your eq and boost a notch, then sweep it around and find an area that brings out some of the desired presence of the instrument (in this case bass drum or bass guitar) and then dip out a couple notches that dont really pop out in the full mix to help make it less muddy, in your case specifically I would add some click to the bass drum try boosting just a small notch around 1k-ish, sounds pretty cool though, Im a noob on the computer stuff though so take it with a grain of salt

put a multiband on the bass and compress the fighting frequencies pretty hard. That should tame the bass guitar

As for a kickdrum, I use the 'Big kick drum technique' that you'll find somewhere on this forum to give the bass drum some extra 60hz punch.