Programming Amp Sims

blacK.eXe

Oct 1, 2010
Hannover, Germany
Hey Guys! Is there any info on how to program basic amp sims for noobs? i think this topic is very interesting but i am a total noob if it comes to programming... Any tips on what to read/watch/learn to get started?

thanks guys! :headbang:

how much of a programming noob are we talking? If you've never done any and also don't have an acceptable grasp of what's going on inside a real amp then you've got a lot of background to go through before you start making a sim

Should probably start learning Java or Python to get your toes wet, then move on to C++.

developing an Amp-Sim is a pretty serious project, don't expect to be doing that for a few years yet.

+1 few years seems like a stretch IMO, as long as you keep it up IMO you could be getting there in over a year, maybe 2. But it really depends how well you learn.

Take your time to do it "right", the world doesn't need another fizzy 3rd order polynomial waveshaper-sim! :loco:

I would choose C++ .. as it's the most versatile programming language.. (used by LePou, Alu, TSE etc.. )
If you want to make sims in the ABG / Ronald Passion way just choose SynthEdit/Synthmaker (but some people won't respect your work then as it is a dirty shortcut:p)

In the end it's the actual product _you_ make that counts .. To model a hardware unit derived from a schematic you'll need to know some stuff or two about dsp/electronics..

I second starting with C++. It might have some lower level difficulties, but it's going to come in handy when you're doing stuff like signal processing. If you're learning programming just for amp sims, the Steinberg SDK is C++ anyways.