Progressive metal track - new mix

AEL89

Jan 22, 2009
I posted this track up here about 4 months ago. I'm still a complete amateur but since then I've been working a lot on other stuff, learning the ropes through experience and feel I've picking up loads of useful tips from the guys on here. :kickass:

Check it out - I'm really happy with the way it's sounding, just wanted to see what people thought of what I've done and the track itself (its my band!). This was recorded in December and I only came back to it last week - no vocals at the moment but if people are interested I'll post a new version when its all finished!

http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/1041607/Arbiter CLIP.mp3

hey man, thanks for checking it out. Yeh the kick had no life in it so I triggered it completely. Snare is 50/50, toms are all natural. I think i might try blending in some of the Slate room mic samples...maybe black album kick or something with some boom :headbang:

yeh, I was probobaly a bit lazy not automating the kick but I do like drum heavy mixes - but that's just my taste. Kick is really annoying me now its been pointed out, I'll have to do something to it.

Yeh cheers dude - we do like a thrashy riff. Snare is kinda wet but has quite a lot of snap...once again - i just think thats down to my taste

Thanks for listening! :kickass:

ahh cheers dude. Vocals are literally top of our agenda now so if any of you are interested - I'll post up here again with the final version.

Thanks for checking it out!

The bass sounds very distracting. Try turning it down and maybe adding some more lowend and scoop it a bit more and maybe that will help a little bit. Great music though!!