ProTools Users

Trep

Mar 16, 2008
Sydney, Australia
Sorry in advance Guys, This is one of those n00b questions for something so basic, but i would really appreciate some help.

When Im recording in PTLE 7.4 I keep Getting Clicks and Pops. Anybody Know how to combat this?

Heres my Setup if it helps

Windows XP (SP3)
PTLE 7.4
2 GB Ram (Going to 4gb in the next few days)
2x80 GB HD (one System One Audio)
Digi 003 Console

Recording at 24/48

Its been suggested to me that it was a word clock Problem, Both are set to internal.

Thanks anybody :)

I got clicks and pops in Audition 3.0 due to a latency problem.... I just rebooted and re-enabled my Alesis io|26 interface and it was alright.
On a separate occasion, I had a loose pickup peg flopping around. :)

uuuhhhh try checking your buffer size. go to setup/playback engine. mess with the dae playback buffer i think. this may fix it i dont know. i think lower uses less cpu. someone correct me if im wrong im not a huge techie on this stuff.

No extrnal ADATs.

Ive tried Buffer settings. Think im gonna work with Sample Rates and see if that helps. I know Sample Rates are Directly Related to word Clock. I just thought somebody else may have experienced the same problems and Had a quick Fix.

Ok, so Now ive Messed with every Buffer setting in the playback engine, and did different combinations of bit rates and sample rates. Still Pops and clicks.

One thing i have noticed. It happens more regularly when i have mulitple tracks of about 4 or more recording simultaniously. Now because all my recording involves 8 track close drum micing its essential to have 8 simultaneous tracks.

Also I have Noticed, that Theres no poping or clicking when recording in Cubase with the 003. This has made me come to the conclusion that its a Software/hardware communication problem and not a hardware problem - Phew!!

So with all That, does anybody have any idea how on earth im Going to fix this????

Thanks!!!!!!!!!

AH!!