question about taxi cabs in atlanta

deathfalls

Jan 7, 2002
Louisiana, USA
Visit site
since marta closes before progpower would be done for the night, i have questions concerning getting a taxi. i've never used a taxi before, are they around that area, or do i have to call 'em? also, does anybody have an idea of how much fare would be for under 3 miles? thanks...

Ahhhh ha!!! Something I can speak on!!! All I have to say is watch out for the rastfarian cabbies. I got taken for a ride, which ended up costing almost $100.00 I almost had to kick some ass on that one. Albiet I was a bit buzzed at the time, still all I have to say is beware
dozey.gif

Bear

Hey. I took a taxi both nights at pp3, which wasnt too bad but I think they got some extra cash out of me 2. Not to mention I walked about a mile at 2 am in Atlanta looking for a damn cab. At pp4 I got smart and rented a car, much easier

deathfalls said:
since marta closes before progpower would be done for the night, i have questions concerning getting a taxi. i've never used a taxi before, are they around that area, or do i have to call 'em? also, does anybody have an idea of how much fare would be for under 3 miles? thanks...
I've never actually had a problem catching a cab outside of Earthlink after any show (including ProgPower). A trip of 3 miles should be in the neighborhood of $7 (just make sure they're going to give you the meter, instead of a flat fare). Sometimes they will ask you if you want a flat fare or the meter, so if the quoted flat fare is more than $7, tell the cabbie you will take your chances. If you are traveling with a companion, they will typically charge $1 extra per person, so a trip of under 3 miles for two people would be about $8.

You might want to print MapQuest directions from the venue to your hotel ahead of time; that way you'll at least know the mileage, plus you'll know if the cabbie seems to be going an unusual route, etc.