Question for Chris and anyone else that can help

NevermoreMan90

Jeff Loomis Fanboi!
Sep 30, 2007
Missouri, U.S.A.
Hey Chris and all! This is my first time on this forum:headbang: Heres the deal. Im primarily a rhythm guitarist that plays both 6 and 7 string guitars. I usually have no trouble coming up with a new riff, be it technical or simple. I've got 8 or 9 solid rhythm and some lead to some of my songs, but i've become stuck when it comes to writing more. I'd like to have mabye 3 more songs before I start to record. Chris, how do you like to approach writing a new song when you need to? What do you do when you get stuck in writing, if you get stuck? Your help is greatly appriciated, and anyone elses advice is too. Thanks greatly!

Try to get your head free! If you're trying to push yourself to write a (good) song it will end up being very generic and uninspired most of the times because you can actually hear if someone is passionate while writing. At least that's my experience... Remember: you're writing because you love it and you want it, not because you have to. I always thought that my songs or riffs came out best when the writing (the basic structures, not the fine-tuning) seemed to be really effortless.

Try to get inspiration. Obviously, listening to other music can give you some ideas. Usually when I'm listening to something that I really dig, the riffs seem to just flow off my hands. Just make sure you're ripping no one off. Sometimes I discover a certain technique or phrase from that and I just go on from that point until it's something really original that sticks in your mind. The same goes to technical or theoretical lessons: just keep on playing them and after a time you almost automatically expend them and take them to different places. Watching live concerts or videos can also get the fire back alive.