RAGE - Soundchaser, and more...

Dec 3, 2004
Arizona, USA
www.ryanseek.com
Fangface and I briefly breached the subject in the upcoming 2006 albums discussion, but I had to start a new thread on RAGE. For any of you that haven't heard of Rage, be you prog, power or true metal fans, I highly recommend the album Soundchaser. It has it all, accompanied by awesome songwriting and musicianship. Savatage fans should especially take note.

I'm new to Rage (Soundchaser being my first). Apparently they've got something like 17 albums out, and I aim to explore this band further. If you're in line behind me, I'd suggest you follow.

Right now, Fangface is leading me, and I trust him completely.

Fangface said:
They've had various line-ups and their sound has changed over the years, especially considering they have released 17 (!) albums. The previous record Unity is in the same vein as Soundchaser, you can't be disappointed by this one :)

As for the earlier stuff, I'm not so much into their 80's records honestly, a few good songs here and there but IMO Rage was just a second rate Accept on steroids at the time. In other words, typical german speed metal.
I think their songwriting improved at the end of the 80's / beginning of the 90's on records such as Secrets In A Weird World and Reflections of a Shadow. The band had become a power trio by then, after starting as a four piece in the early 80's.

During the 90's they kept improving and maturing : I'd recommend Trapped and The Missing Link, their last before they became a four piece band again.
Black in Mind and End of All Days follow, featuring a different line-up and new ideas but same kick-ass energy! Many fans consider this mid 90's period and those 4 records as the best Rage years.