Recording Drums without a Mixer and Phasing Issues

Demonstealer

Jun 30, 2003
India
demonicresurrection.8m.com
Hey guys,
Does anyone have any insight or links on some reading material. I'll be honest I'm a complete NOOB when it comes to recording and mixing live drums and I do struggle with it. I recorded drums in a studio which did not have a console and I was unable to print the tracking engineers EQ's and filters etc which actually was quite a great drum mix to start mixing from. My drummer says that we need those because of serious phasing in the drumming and that the engineer had balanced and EQd the drums to sort out all those issues. And was also told if he had recorded using the console we'd not have had those issues to begin with. This all resulting from each mic capturing the same part of the kit at a different time.

So anyway long story short what should I be keeping in mind and when I record my future albums as well how do I sort out phasing issues and when I'm recording the drums without using a console.

Thanks in advance.

PS - I'm sure I might sound like a retard. But trust me I feel it too :p :loco:

with a real drum-kit you will always have phase-issues. you simply can't eliminate them, because of the multi-miking / different sources / distances ect.
but you dont need a console to minimize them.
first and most important is your mic-placement. check your phases during mic-setup for each end every channel. check them by ear, check them by waveforms. switch the phase in your DAW/ preamp. is it 180°out of phase? switch it. is it more or less than 180° out of phase? move your mic if necessary.
make sure your drums sound great with as less phase-problems as possible. don't relie on EQ and stuff to fix it. make it sound great at the beginning.
but don't go crazy with this phase-stuff, you will always have some phase-problems.

cheers!