Recording Hardware for PC

sonofhendrix13

some loser
Jul 1, 2004
Gloucester, MA
Im looking at buying a recording system for my computer. I know that they can get really expensive but im looking for some really cheap hardware (in the $200-$300 range) that i can just fuck around with. Im not a pro guitarist at all and im not looking to record a cd or anything so the quality doesnt matter.

Ive been looking at theses systems:

Cubase System 4
Tascam US-122
M-Audio Omnistudio
Lexicon Omega

Do u have any recommendations?

it depends what kind of soundcard you have, and what method of recording you want to use.

personally, i use microphone recording because i feel some of the sound is lost in a direct connection.

however, direct boxes have an advantage of eliminating pops and hum that can come from a microphone recording. i use my mic to capture sound from my amp's cabinet when i play, and my mic is connected to the back "line in" of my SB Audigy 2Z soundcard. this is run into Cubase SX 1.0, and i use Cubase to mix/master/edit my tracks and create my songs. i also use Cubase to program drums/bass since i don't have those instruments.

so for me the only cost was a mic (Shure SM57 $99US)
and Cubase SX: (retails at $580US but i paid much less)

of course this assumes you have a reasonably fast computer with a decent soundcard. an unmixed multitrack song can take up to a GIG of drive space before you mix it to wav/mp3 or whatever. if you have many layered tracks, it can go far higher than a Gig.

an alternative to using a mic is to buy a direct box (around $150) and record straight into your computer's soundcard by plugging Guitar > DirectB > soundcard.
you wont hear anything but the sound from the pickups, which is to say it will be very clear recording, but some tone may be lost (up to your ears).