Building your own PC for recording and mixing purposes only...

Jun 2, 2005
Hey hey!

Right.. when it comes to PC's and specs.. i am a ultra newbie... i understand the terms and i understand most of the basic stuff, and i do know the software, but in general i could really use some help with building or buying a new PC for recording/mixing jobs.

Well, i have a decent computer right now.. but i really HATE it when it comes to doing a full project like a TGM song.

Normally a recording/mixing session works, but once i start working with synths and/or vocals on top of the song, my computer really starts to show it's age... meaning it starts to clutter the DFHS drums, it starts to make popping sounds and crackling noises, in short.. it sucks.

Im just really looking for a beast of a machine for a reasonable price.. what would you guys suggest?

I defenitly thinking about getting a dual core processor, since that seems to be the main problem on my PC now... my motherboard only allows up to 2 GB RAM, so i need more there as well, seeing as how many VSTi's and plugins i use in a session.

I know, i know.. i could just bounce tracks between two project files, or even three.. but im really sick of that! i just need ONE song in ONE project file and be done with it allready.

Any suggestions out there? i can go up till about 1500/1600 euro.

I might even go mac, i just dont have the knowledge though.. a laptop, a PC, i dont care really.. it just needs to improve now.

Seems there's a lot of these topics lately... JBroll, you should just go to tigerdirect.com and build the best recording PC you can for under $1000 including cooling products, CD drives, case, etc. so that we can all just go and order all those parts and be done with it :lol:

DO NOT ORDER FROM TIGER DIRECT! I have had a problem with EVERY order from them! Don't trust those rebates either! They have good product descriptions with youtube vids, but once you know what you want go to NEW EGG: