Recording rates???

doclegion

Contagious Destruction
Dec 31, 2006
Im kinda new to studio rates and im unsure how i should charge..

By the song or the hour?? Im decent at recording, i mean it comes out clean

I record in a basement, not much for room treatment a little cramed but good enough

And if i charged by the song, should that include mixing n shit?? Im not a masterer but most bands want it loud i can do that
Hourly rate?? Charge for mixing??
I dont know
click the link for a sample of my work and let me know, im unsure
www.myspace.com/thearcanedesign - lead the line

people here are going to say to charge an hourly rate, and I'd say the same thing, especially if you will be working in a proper studio.

I charge by the song. More songs = discounted rate. But, the way I work requires more flexibility on the band's part with ME, not vice versa, so until I can get into a proper studio (mobile recording rig/mix and master at my house currently), I'm a "charge by the song" kinda guy.

Charge $300 a song for tracking and $150 for mixing.If it sounds like too much find a price based on your hours.
Don't be cheap because what then happens is you start degrading our standard as audio engineers.