?'s for Jim

Deviation

New Metal Member
Sep 13, 2002
Arizona
Visit site
I'm a bit new to scene compared to many. I'm 33yo and grew up on the radio hard rock of my times. My favorite song in elemetary school was Kansas Carry on Wayward Son (when it was released!) so that was probably a good sign of my future. )

I gave up on radio and buying CDs in the early 90's as Hurl Spam, et al. took over and Z Rock atrophied into nothing. So I have a ton of ignorance about death/black metal and most of the European stuff. Bear with me as I rediscovered things upon getting a cable modem and finding HardRadio.com in '98 which has resurrected my faith. I stopped buying CDs around '93 but have bought over 100 since getting the broadband access to hear what I'd been missing.

I'm not a death fan. I have two Opeth albums and In Flames Clayman. That is as goofy as I get on the vocals. There's just only so much I can handle. BUT, what in the hell is the difference between death and black metal? And what the hell is the Goteburg (sp?) sound? And how can you tell the bands apart? I'm not being cynical or insulting, I simply need some training of my ears and education. Thanks.

Originally posted by Deviation
BUT, what in the hell is the difference between death and black metal?

Definitions have gotten confused (and thank goodness as those who followed the definitions religiously are just boring!), but... 'classic' definitions involve:

Death- Low growling vocals, downtuned and heavy sound, riffs riffs riffs.

Black- High screechy vocals, trebly sound, 'atmosphere.'

And what the hell is the Goteburg (sp?) sound?

Ah, Gothenburg. That's easy. Not that it means the same thing now as it did then, but that's true of any genre, isn't it?

Death metal for the most part grew out of thrash which grew out of heavy metal with some punk stuff thrown in there. In the mid 80s to early 90s, it generally was not melodic and speed and brutality were the buzzwords.