singing/bass

U

Unregistered

Since the keyboard and bass practice thread came up:

I just started singing while playing bass. Now, I've played bass for quite some time, but I've always heard that singing while playing bass is hard, so I never tried it. I just started with a few guys that used to be a good band before they broke up. We're singerless now, so it couldn't hurt to learn how. The last 2 or 3 days I've been working on easy stuff like "reckoning day" by Megadeth, and I have it down pretty well (even though it kills my voice to sing like that).

Is the "do easy stuff at first" approach the best way? Any suggestions from experience? Any web sites for singing technique or discussions on the bass/singing topic? Does a voice adjust to singing in a rough tone eventually (i have no singing experience, but I'm managing so far).

Les Claypool (Primus) does it by just learning the bass totally.He doesn't even have to think about it.Then he moves onto vocals.
And you know,he has some crazy bass parts.

Yeah, that's everything I'd like to do for now... My band is also singerless now, the other guys are really novices on their instruments, just some months, and we're playing easy stuff, like Wicker Man, Breaking the Law...

I always thought it would be cool to play bass ang sing too, like Hansi Kursch from Blind Guardian, but, you know, I'd like to have his voice, not his bassplaying abilities h0h0h00h0h0

But no way to get it well, maybe after manyyyyyyy time of practice, who knows?? Lemme try what you said, completely learn the bass so it feels like "natural", and then go to vocals...

That's kind of what I've been doing. I learn the part well, then try singing through it without much emphasis of the quality of singing (just coordinating the two). Then when I'm comfortable with doing both (which may take me a dozen tries), I try going all out for both singing and bass. Makes even simpler songs muuuuch more fun (and challenging).