Slight issue with a client

Mooseman0389

New Metal Member
Jun 26, 2011
Durham, NC
www.facebook.com
Hey guys. I'm still new to the game and I've encountered a situation I don't know how to handle. I tracked a bands drums and just finished editing them. No disrespect to the drummer but I had to do a lot of work to make the performances work. And some parts weren't even completely editable. Beat Detective wouldn't even grab most of his kicks so I sucked it up and copy-pasted a good hit for almost all of them.

The guitar player wants to mix it himself and asked me for a MIDI track for all the shells so he could trigger his own kicks100% and blend snares and toms 50%. I sent him the sessions with all the tasks completed as requested.

But now he has an issue with the kick audio (which he is going to replace) because of the replaced hits. And because I replaced with a solid hit the velocities came out 127 in the MIDI track. He doesn't think the kicks are dynamic enough................. And he said the MIDI was too compressed.... which.... isn't even a thing... since MIDI is information and not audio... kick drums aren't generally dynamic at all... If anyone I know was mixing it.... they would all be 127... and completely replaced....

He wants me to re-send him sessions with the OLD not edited kick audio....

I'm chain smoking and trying to figure out what to do. At what point can I put my foot down? I don't want to blow one of my first clients but I also don't want him to put something out that doesn't sound up to modern standards and attach my name to it.

Time for another cigarette. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.