Softamping Rammstein and Ruoska

Decadent Sympozium

Loose cannon
Dec 1, 2010
Zagreb
Hello.

Here is the permalink to my introduction post in case you want to see some info. I was routed to this forum by a friend who convinced me that this is the best place to seek guidance in metal production.

Info

Naturally, I was seeking forum because I need help. Before that, though, I think it's important to provide few informations on the situation: I'm a self-taught producer and composer using software and generally don't know much about music theory, playing instruments or gear. I can, for example, listen and take down melodies on the keyboard with ease, say, but I have no clue what I'm doing. I've spent the past 10 years producing and composing orchestral and electronica music and although I'm good at it, I still do everything by feeling. it just happened that way and there's no turning back. So when you talk to me, it's best to pretend as if I'm mentally challenged.

Since before summer of this year I finally started working on metal-type music, waiting for the right time, y'know, money, software, etc. The music of Rammstein, Ruoska and Eisbrecher is something I'll be aiming at, though other genres are not excluded. However, it's lame to start composing while with every new day my sound shifts to better, so I'm aiming to have an approximately-complete setup and then do a so-called demo album in the future.

Problem
I'm stuck. The production of this music is different and I'm not familiar with it. I'm learning on the way, but most of my work is method of mistakes. I need a guide because I don't know what to do to increase quality. I think I raped my production yesterday and destroyed even the possibly good sound I had.

The software I'm using which is an electric guitar is Shreddage for rythm/powerlead and EEG Strawberry for everything else. We will focus on the Shreddage.