Solid State Power Amp Classes? Need help

rsf1977

New Metal Member
Apr 23, 2009
Jersey City
www.facebook.com
I'm looking to get a solid state power amp for my axe-fx modeller to power (2) 4x12 guitar cabs. I'm new to solid state amps and I noticed they all seem to use different class amps, like:
  • Crown K1 - Class B amp
  • Crest CD 1500 - Class D amp
  • Carvin DCM1500L - Class AB amp
Are there any that are more suited for this application then others? Are some just a bad idea?

I'm really not certain about different power classes, but I am pretty certain that the most ear-pleasing variety of solid-state amplification is MosFET technology; I don't know of any current MosFET power amps currently available (at least, none that are remotely affordable), but I'd vote scouring ebay for a Tubeworks Mosvalve (MV-962) or Hafler/Digitech (they were sold as both) G150! (the G150 is the better option IMO, as it has a dedicated output for running it in bridged mono, though I guess since you're gonna use two 4x12's that isn't an issue unless one of the cabs has a passthru output)

well in case you aren't familiar with the axe-fx it has tube power amp modelling so if the units above color the sound like a tube amp, i'm not really looking for anything that sounds tube-y since i'm already producing that part of the equation. Basically, looking for a flat response full range power amp that will represent whatever signal the axe puts out as faithfully as possible. I play really low in drop-A so it needs to be able to handle some bottom end tightness more then usual.

Class D is best for low frequencies. Extremely efficient and low heat generation but piss-poor sound at higher frequencies (usually filtered out). Ideal for live sound subwoofers. Usually high power 100+ watts.