Starting a band

Katatonic1

Requiem
Oct 30, 2006
New York, USA
Hey, I was hoping people who are in a band could give me some advise as to finding musicians(in my area or not THAT far away) to start a band with. I have been playing guitar for over 5 years and feel I am advanced enough to start really looking, and my desire is more present then ever. Katatonia is definatly a real inspiration, and I know there are people here who have great bands. if someone can tell me the story of how they formed their band it would be really awsome. Like did you have to look online or was it the pure luck of findng people? I have played with other musicians before but that was more about being in the right place at the right time. like when I was in high school..these days I don't meet that many people so any advise would be greatly appreciated..thanks

cheers :kickass:

Go out and meet people, make new friends. Even if those friends aren't musicians themselves, just become somewhat friends and mention you're looking for musicians. If you do that enough, eventually you might meet some musicians through distant friends. Also, when you do meet a musician, even if he/she is horrible, stay in contact with them and try and meet musicians who are friends with them, because you never know. Also, look for a local internet forum for people looking for bands in your area, and look in ad papers etc... Make a myspace as well, and contact all the people you can in your area and let everyone know you are looking for musicians. Just stuff like that. Good luck man!