Strong deep vocals, Epic/dark themes, New to Metal

Vladearg

New Metal Member
May 14, 2012
Ive recently fallen in love with the whole concept of metal and the people who love it... Im not a music guy, but with the proper sub-genere, I could be... Im new to this, so bear with me.

My first Metal band I was introduced to was Iced Earth. And I love them and similar bands for their lyrics. The Courage and vision to talk about life, death, gods, god, satan, love, ect... However, the lyrics are not quite clear enough for me. I like A song I Can understand the lyrics pretty much right away.
Also, my ideal band(s) would have a singer with a pretty deep masculine voice.
Perhaps like an english version of Rammstein, but I dont speak German, so I dont know how easy he is to hear really.

I also really like System Of a Down's way of it. But again, they really dont have the metal themes I love... Though the did abit in their Toxicity album

I also really like Transiberiam Orchestra, But quite against my will as they are rather the reverse of what im looking for in terms of theme. Im a member of the TOS (http://xeper.org/) And its a little annoying to put them up on pandora and get Christian rock back.:Shedevil:

Not sure what else to say that might prompt suggestions.

I want to hear the story in the lyrics and have it take me away into the darkness where only true depth and wisdom can be found.
I would rather have my mind and spirit sour then just my blood pumping, Though that can be just fine too.

Thank you for your time.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hope theres more. Both of those bands dissolved due to dead vocalists. :bah:
And I wounder if there is much similar to that, but more in the black/epic lyrical themes.

But those sound excellent. Your definitly helping me in the right direction. Thank you.:devil:

PS:
Going to take a stab at trying out the termonology here.