Taking "fanboy" to a new level.

Toshiro

Metal Otaku
Aug 1, 2002
Daytona Beach, FL
www.myspace.com
Okay, so the other day I sold off my Ibanez RG 7 string(mainly because B just sounds wrong to me overall, and I was never comfortable playing it), and I was looking for another guitar. I emailed someone on a classified about an Ibanez S (listed as "Ibanez S Custom Made with IBZUSA pickups"), not knowing what it was, but hoping it was decent. I then forgot completely about it.

Of course, almost 12 hours later he emails me back with a serial number prefix and photos. And it's one of those guitars that I've wanted almost since I started playing, an S540LTD in black:

S540LTD1.jpg

Remind anyone of anything? I immediately bought it, I was almost sending the guy payment before he could get the shipping calculated. lol :headbang:

Now we come to the problem. I'm an RG guy, I have 2 older RG750s, and I'm used to picking out pickups for a Basswood guitar. To make matters worse, I was the guy everyone asked what to put in their guitars as far as Dimarzios go when I worked as a tech, so I'm REALLY stuck. I don't know what to put in this. Is the S mohagany body thick sounding? Or does the thin-ness cut down on this? Anyone have one of these?

X2N? Super Distortion? Evolution? Steve's Special(even though I like middy pickups)? Tone Zone?

Gah. I don't know what to put in this. The neck pickup will be an AirNorton for sure, just this whole bridge pickup thing is driving me nuts. I plan to tune the guitar to D, set it up, and leave it there, so I need something tight but not thin. lol

Anyone have any ideas? No EMGs though, too pricy and I don't really care for them.