Taking up Bass

WarHead

Handful of Nothing
Aug 27, 2001
Virginia
Anyone have any input or suggestions on some basses?

I was jamming on an Ibanez 5 string SR405 at guitar center and was really digging it.

Well...the I've known about that movie for about 4 years at least....hmmm,.,...,I think it was made 2 years ago but had problems getting a distributer that would tolerate the "sadistic violence" that it contained. :Spin:

If you're looking for decent quality at a cheap price would suggest you try to get your hands on one of those old Fernadez basses or check out Washburn. For more expensive basses, Yamaha and Spector.

I have one suggestion: Don't overlook a Peavey Foundation bass, especially with a maple neck. I have a beautiful white five-string Foundation I use for recording (I am a 6-string guitarist by trade) and my former bass player (a twelve year veteran player) offered me various trades and money for my bass, but I wouldn't give it up.

Bryant

just like i tell every bassist just starting off. a very good choice will to get an ESP. if your budget is low get the LTD b-50. its a very good starting bass for a low price. and will last you alot longer than the ibanez will

Fender or Ibanez is where I would start, good quality in their entry-level lines.

I picked up my bass today and was trying to write a bass-line for an acoustic riff I had written and it made me think of this post. Everyone on this post is wrong including me. : ( One of the most wonderful things about guitars, be it electric, acoustic, bass or whatever, is that most are made of organic materials, namely wood. Even the mass-produced, lower quality instruments will play and sound a bit different than the one made before or after it. That's not to say that you shouldn't take the recommendations to heart, but even as a beginner, you should easily be able to tell a difference between instruments. Pick one that feels comfortable strapped on you and has a tone you like.

Bryant