The 1-Clip-Per-Day Challenge...

rlcramer

Tone is not in MY fingers
Apr 16, 2008
So I've been lurking around this forum for a while, and I'm consistently amazed at how much amazing stuff comes out of here from clips, to tones, to presets, to impulses, etc. And I'm also fairly embarrassed that I've been playing guitar and recording for so many years, and I still haven't really worked up my recording chops to be able to lay down tracks that sound the way I want them to. So I woke up this morning and I decided that I'm going to force myself to create a clip every day for the next 30 days. No matter how basic, boring, or monotonous it is, I will not sleep until I have something recorded every day for the next month - no excuses allowed... I figure the more I record, and the more I tweak, the better my tracks will sound.

Anyway - I'm not sure that I'll post them all here for fear of boring you guys to death with my ridiculous experiment, but I will post one today.

When you hear it you'll quickly realize that I obviously wasn't going for intricacy :), so please don't critique the clip itself. I really just wanted to get everyone's opinion on the tones and the mix. The guitar is all Axe-Fx (quad tracked) with just a touch of compression (a-la Andy's C4 settings), and a tiny bit of EQ added in Logic. Bass is a Sansamp RBI with no effects added, and the drums are the SSD Metal Dream kit - also with no effects. The master track has a logic Channel Strip called Rock Master or something like that.

Any and all opinions are welcomed and appreciated. And if any of you want to participate in my "1 Clip Per Day" challenge, feel free to post here as well.

Thanks,

Bobby

The Most Boring Clip EVER!

guitar tone is actually quite good - would like to hear more.... kick good, snare bad.

I like the guitar tone a lot actually, can't really comment on the drums though I know nothing about that stuff.

Behindert used to a daily, or near daily clip.