The Hive Cover - Mix/Master 1st attempt

theNeologist

Apr 3, 2009
Hey all....so I'm just finishing up recording my first project with my new equipment, etc. I'm using Pro Tools M powered with the profire 610 firewire interface, and prior to this was scrounging for even a hint of decent quality. So needless to say I'm very new to mixing and particularly mastering. Really I'm not expecting perfection with my first go around, really just trying to feel it out..and see what the possibilities are.

Since I'm in the mastering stage i was hoping to get feedback on this mix in regards to final touches/polishes that I can get out of Ozone 4. From my own criticism I feel I may have splashed too much reverb on the mid-mid highs and the guitars feel a little too loose. I'd like to bring them together more and tighten/thicken them up. Any suggestions on how to do so....or anything really for the mix. All responses much appreciated.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3422116/The Hive Master.mp3

This is something I've heard before throughout my mixing process.....the problem is I'm too close to them to really hear them for what they are....after all I've been listening to all the songs on the album I'm recording ungodly amounts of time. So my question would be, does it sound like something that could be fixed with mixing/mastering or is the problem more with the samples themselves? In terms of thinness, would perhaps sending the drums to a parallel compression buss maybe fill them out better?

I don't think the drums sound thin at all. I think they sound super FAKE. Your kick is a little quiet, and your snare drum, while a good sample on it's own, needs much more variation in velocity and samples. Right now it sounds about one level above midi drums. I'm also not a fat of what I'm hearing from the overheads really.

Aside from investing in a better drum VST or sample set, a la Steven Slate drums, there isn't anything you can to fix this.