The reasons you started playing

7 Dying Trees

Bastard Albino Elf
Apr 18, 2002
The woodland fern
www.nemecyst.net
Why did you start playing/singing? What or who inspired you to want to pick up an instrument/microphone?

As a guitarist my main inspiration to start playing was Steve Harris. I'd always wanted to play guitar, but I don't think my parents ever realised when I was 5 that I may have needed some lessosn...

Eventually I got into iron maiden and decided steve harris was god and that I had to become his low frequency disciple.

(Un*)fortunately my friend had already started playing bass, so i decided I was going to play guitar instead, and Dave Murray / Greg Mackintosh, Kirk Hammet and Mustaine/Friedman became the new idols that inspired me to play, then followed by Trey Azagtoth and Michael AMott/Bill Steer...

Just wish I'd started sooner than I did!

What about everyone else?

I started playing because I got tired of trying to find music I liked (I'm kinda picky). I decided I would just make my own! As a lifelong Black Sabbath fan, of course my main inspiration was Iommi.

And I'm with you 7, I wish I would have started waaaaaay earlier. It didn't occur to me that I could do it, instead of just listening to it, until I got older. I could have been a "has been" by now!

I started playing guitar when i was 14. I have always loved music. First learned the piano at 5 then calrinet, then sax. i used to play in a school band. Which took a way my freedom to express myself musically. So i tried playing guitar. I loved it practising day and night. Endless hours. I regreat to say that the type of music which first influcened me was punk. Soon later got board of that. and started playing Iron Maiden. I loved their solos. but then getting tired of them. Now i like playing paul gilbert songs, and some malmsteen. I have always had a passion for music. which will never die out. :cool: