Theory...

carvedones

May 16, 2007
Today i finally started to understand theory. For instance i had no idea how the CO5's worked. Now finally i do. I never understood how to determine key sigs and always just played scales/modes by there relative shapes, without knowing how to construct them myself.

Now to start using this new info:headbang:

I know its pretty bad since i have been playing for around 15 years:erk:. But i have alot of trouble with that type thing because im dyslexic.

Ok a few things to make sure i got this shit right...

If i play a song in say G (major) then the solo can be any of the following:

G - Ionian
A - Dorian
B - Phrygian
C - Lydian
D - Mixolydian
E - Aeolian
F# - Locrian

(Not including Harmonic/Melodic minor here) And all are constructed from the same note, you just start from a different one depending on what type of sound your going for.

Correct?

Ok a few things to make sure i got this shit right...

If i play a song in say G (major) then the solo can be any of the following:

G - Ionian
A - Dorian
B - Phrygian
C - Lydian
D - Mixolydian
E - Aeolian
F# - Locrian

(Not including Harmonic/Melodic minor here) And all are constructed from the same note, you just start from a different one depending on what type of sound your going for.

Correct?
that is correct if you want to play in G major/E minor. However you can use whatever scale or non tonal doodle you want over the G major chord. Although it is the 'guidline' that whatever solo idea you are playing gravitates towards the notes of a g major chord, but you can solo in F# melodic minor if you wish over that and if you think it fits, however it is not guaranteed to please many people:p