Threshold (The Band!)

MetalAges

Purveyor of the Unique & Distinct
Staff member
Sep 30, 2001
Virginia, USA
www.ultimatemetal.com
How many of you all are familiar and/or listen to Threshold (UK band)?

I realized the other day that I've been listening to them for over 20 years now. Psychedelicatessen was one of the first albums I bought when discovering Metal mail orders (at the time I had found Dream Disc out of Indiana). Fast forward to 2017 and the vocalist from that album (Glynn Morgan) has once again returned, and the album is all kinds of awesome. they always have this strange "under the radar" presence, have never "broke" per se, but man do I consider them up there with some of the best in the genre (Progressive Metal for lack of a better genre description that doesn't exist).

Threshold are a strange one in that, with the revolving vocalists over the years, they still maintain a solid output that, for me, is stellar. Each vocalist creates a different vibe to the music. Smart writing, killer melodies, nothing super virtuosic but at the same time the guys are no slouches, and I consider them elegant players - a real band oriented approach to writing.

Curious to hear feedback and see if anyone else is into these guys. And I consider it mandatory to check out stuff from across their career as they've evolved a lot without losing what makes them special - just different sounds across their career.

Forced to pick a favorite tune from them, I would probably go with this one:

And one I probably listened to the most from their March of Progress album - which I describe as "if Andrew Lloyd Weber wrote a Metal song":

Last edited: