thumb position metal versus classical

todcos

New Metal Member
Jan 19, 2011
HI Chris,
I am a big fan of your playing. I saw you with Megadeth in Melbourne Australia last month. I was amazed how effortless your playing appears to be, amazing!
Anyway my question is.

I have been learning classical guitar for about two years. My teacher & Segovia consider one's classical technique to be sloppy if the thuumb behind the fretboard protrudes over the top of the fretboard. Since being told this I have a very close look at rock/metal players as well. a lot tend to have their thumb poritrude over the top nearly all the time. I notice that you also do that, but rarely compared to all other players. Do you think that there are times when playing rock/metal your thumb has to protrude a little bit?

I hope you het the time to answer my question.
Regards
Todcos

There are some cases in rock and metal where you almost have to use your thumb that way, especially if you're bending. It's more painstaking to bend to the right intonation and pitch (at least whenever I've seen it) if you have your thumb flat against the back of the neck, since the pushing force is strictly on your fingers and not based in the palm of your hand. That's why you always see the big time blues players with thumbs that hang way over the neck.

On the other hand, there's not a whole lot of bending in metal, so if you keep your thumb glued to the back of the neck, it shouldn't make too big a difference, especially if you're articulate.

But to answer your question, it's all based on your playing style. If you're a bender (like I am), the thumb will have to protrude sometimes. If you're not, it really doesn't have to. However you're comfortable.

Thanks for your reply, whoever you are.
I'm not sure what metal you listen to.
The metal players I listen to nearly always use bending in their solos.
So I couldn't disagree more with your comment about not a whole lot of bending in metal, it's everywhere.