Tips for more punch in muted guitar sound?

Fredr!k

New Metal Member
Aug 5, 2008
I'm trying to record a pretty palm muted riff (using Line6's GearBox Gold for sound emulation), but I'm having trouble getting a good punch/hammering start as I hit the strings. It sounds pretty okay as I record as the actual sound of the plectrum hitting the strings mixes with the distorted sound but played back it tends to become very much a blur. The dampening of a single stroke is pretty harsh and the sound is cut off rather quickly without much trailing noise.

I'm not a pro at guitar playing so it's quite possible my technique is as much at fault as my setup in GearBox. Would be grateful for any tips that might set me in the right direction. Thanks!

Before you go twiddling with your knobs, try picking differently and see how that affects the sound. Different angles, palm weight (don't bend the note sharp though), distance to/fro the bridge, !!fingers on the strings!!! all make a vaginormas difference.

If you're not sure what to do then by all means just play as hard as you can while staying clean. That usually sounds the best anyway.

yeah, sounds like a gate issue...adding a distortion/OD pedal works to make it sound chunkier, but be sure to check that noise gate

Thanks for the feedback! Indeed the noise gate treshold was way up high. I've lowered it and placed a multiband compressor in the chain based on Andy's C4 settings. I've also cut down a little on the distortion which seemed to help as well. It's getting far better than before! But still have a way to go.

I've placed the clip here after the changes mentioned above:
http://www.kaliko.com/test.mp3

Listening to the clip I notice a kind of scratching noise as the string is hit which I guess can be very much related to my very-far-from-perfect playing style (bad pick angle perhapse?). Will try different picking tonight.

More ideas how to improve are appreciated, thanks! :)