Total Newbie! Please offer advice on my mix!

Gelfling666

New Metal Member
Jul 17, 2009
Plymouth, UK
www.myspace.com
Hi all, I'm new here (first post...) but already I've found a whole ton of amazing advice and ideas!
Anyway, my first attempt at mixing / mastering a song from my band, it's taken me quite a long time to get to this stage but it's slowly getting where I want it to be... the musical style is kind of blackened death metal, so the sound I'm going for is somewhere around Watain, Marduk, Dissection etc, kinda raw and with a lot of high-end. This is only very rough demo quality so any suggestions on what I could do to improve it would be much appreciated!

Edit - there are a few different versions up now, the most recent two are using impulses for the guitars and bass, and have replaced the kick and snare drums which I think gives a more defined sound...

http://soundclick.com/eternalsaros

Hi, and welcome the best forum there is :headbang:

I quite liked your song, although it sounded abit muffled to my ears. I think the guitars could use more gain and just a tad less mids.
I would also try giving the kick abit more snap to it, and also raise the volume of the vocalist, whom sounded great for this type of music!

I think the bass supported this song very well, and overall I feel this mix doesn't need too many fixes, mostly some eq'ing & volume level balancing :)

Cheers for the comments, I see what you mean about more gain on the guitars, i tried this using the guitar amp simulator in Adobe Audition and it transforms the whole track! Gotta remix now to compensate for the change in tone etc, but I think it will sound loads better.
Not sure how to give the kick drum more snap, eq I guess, although I'm having difficulties making it audible in the mix unless I raise the volume loads, then it seems overpowering. I guess on a lot of metal the drums are pretty loud.
The vocalist will be please with your comment too!