tracking basics

userchanged1

Aug 11, 2011
Hey all.
So i am finally set up to do some home recording, and need some input on the process of tracking.
I've done some mixes of Ola's stuff, with mixed success (pun not intended) but I think its good enough for my needs...
So now I want to try and mix some of my own riffs.
Note that I have little to no background knowledge in recording, and I'm basically making things up as I go along so some of my methods may be an absolute no-go. I'd like some feedback on my method and -worst case- on how to do it right.
I use Cubase 5 and an NI Audio Kontrol interface.

- I basically have things set up like so: 2 guitars double tracked & hard panned, a bass track recorded on guitar and processed an octave down, and MIDI drums using EZD and some pre-processed triggered samples I found for kick and snare.
- I make sure there's no clipping in the input signal and try to end up with a signal chain output of about -5dB per track, so it adds up to about 0dB with all tracks combined in the mix.
- I record riff by riff. I am a decent enough guitarist to be able to record whole riffs flawlessly, but a whole song seems to me making it harder than it needs to be, as one mistake is fatal and makes me lose a lot of time.
- When the riff is fast and elaborate enough, I set the track tempo to a lower value so I can achieve cleaner notes, and less mistakes. Then I process it to match the correct tempo.
- When everything is recorded, there's usually a lot of phasing going on in the lead sections. As I said I am decent at playing the guitar, but getting the tightness and constistency of Ola's tracks seems near impossible imo... So I found this 'manual wave edit' function with which I can drag like every note exactly where it needs to be on the tempo grid. It's pretty time consuming but seems to get rid of most of the phasing issues... is this common practise? Doesn't this have a negative effect on the signal qualitywise?