Trying to decide how many tracks to record...

H-evolve

Apr 21, 2014
Montreal, Canada
Hi guys,

I know there are a couple of threads about quad-tracking or not, etc. I hope you don't mind me starting a new thread on a similar topic, but my question, I think, is a bit more specific. I'll try to explain my question with as much details as possible, so I apologize if the post is rather long. Moreover, I'm a beginner, as you guys probably know by now... so I am sorry if this is perhaps a dumb problem I am having!

First of all, I think I want to try Quad-Tracking. I think I read somewhere an interview by Andy Sneap saying that unless he is on a really tight schedule, he'll always quad track.

That being said, I can't decide what to do for a song I want to record, here are my questions/problems... :

First of all, we have a Mesa Dual Rectifier and an ENGL Invader, on a Mesa Oversized Cab. For the Quad Tracking, I was thinking of mixing 2 tracks of each amp. For dual-tracking leads, I had actually no idea how to do it...? Only the Mesa perhaps?

Second of all, in the song, on the first riff, there is a guitar playing power chords on the lower register (B5 on a 7 strings, etc.), while there is a second guitar playing Mors Principum Estish harmony-melody, an octave higher (6th string, B register). My intent was to quad track the power chord guitar, and dual-track the melody. That makes any sense?

The following riff, both guitars are playing in harmony, a fast picking melodic kind of riff. That is, there are no power chords. So, my intent was to dual track each guitar, maybe one guitar with the Mesa right/left and the other guitar with the ENGL right/left.

My question is... isn't it going to sound a bit weird the way I intended to do it? I mean, on the first riff you'll basically have 6 tracks, while on the next one you'll drop to 4 tracks...

Thanks for all your help once again!