Two Questions for the big SDG

Bassbarata

Still a Stranger
Dec 16, 2008
BraSil
Hey Steve,how you doin'?
I have two questions for you my friend.
First one:
When you are making bass lines,what method do you use? I mean,do you just sit there improvising a line or maybe you just follow a primary idea and work on it?

Second Question:
man,im just starting in my thrash metal band and i want an advice,i want to know if you can give me an advice about promoting my band,I'm new in this kind of stuff,im just a musician,i don't know how to handle that things :rofl:

:worship:
Greetings from BraSil!
P.S:pLEASE BRING SADUS TO RIO DE JANEIRO!
See ya.

What's up!
The first question is not easy to answer because every bass line is unique to the part, unique to the instrumentation involved, unique to the feel of the song, etc...
For me, there is a lot of improvising with a lot of bass lines. And that is a reason sometimes that I can never replicate what was originaly recorded, and moreover also the reason why I can hardly remember bass lines that I recorded under in-and-out quick session recordings.
But obviously within the guidelines of creating bass lines, there are boundries that are clear. The notes of the melody - mostly played by a guitar part - are the road on which you drive, and the beats of the drum parts are the speed limits.
I believe the bass line is already there, it's just up to the bass player to hear it, and feel it, and interpret it their own unique way.

As far as promoting your band. I mean these days all the record companies find new bands online, music magazines, fanzines, and even the future fans of your band are all looking and listening online. Myspace has been a great tool to learn everything about a band. And lots of other places to upload your songs and direct people's attention to your band's own website.