Virtuoso status

tony bologna

Nov 13, 2002
loserville VA
Visit site
Does anyone here know how long and how often Michael Romeo practiced to get unattainable guitar hero status? I started practicing super long today, I could barely keep it up for 2 hours, playing the damnation game solo and sea of lies tapping over and over and over. Then I watched the guitar chapter and he pulls it off with super ease.

My goal is to play for at least 6 hours straight. Slowly working up speed and limiting string noise.

and who said you have to be able to play 1000000000 notes/second to be a guitar hero? I concider Dave Gilmour to be a guitar hero and he doesn't play fast.

If you want to try doing Steve Vai's 10 hour guitar workout all the way through I'm sure that would step up your playing a few notches! I haven't seen of it, only heard of it.

I'm actually finding that doing short (90 min) as opposed to super long (3-6 hour) sessions very intesely to The Guitar Chapter has improved my ability. Not just in new stuff learned, but I can hit the old stuff with ease, and improvise better.

It's not aboutr practising for 6 hours straight, it's about practising 6 hours altogether! The hands get tired, and then the result isn't as good as if you have practised for 6 x 1 hour a day.

Originally posted by mark_bwaite
If you want to try doing Steve Vai's 10 hour guitar workout all the way through I'm sure that would step up your playing a few notches! I haven't seen of it, only heard of it.

Damn you beat me to it Mark!

Yeah, I think there's some book or something. My friend's guitar teacher who's amazing (apparently) tried doing it, and could only do 5 hours.

Personally, I don't think that this could make you better. I mean, sure the excercises might be helpful to you, but what's the point in just sitting there for 10 hours burning yourself out? It's better to spread it out. Maybe a couple hours (at the most) at one time.

Go figure.