VST programs

Mystique1721

bass solo, take one
Jul 31, 2006
Southern Cali
Hey guys,

I am a bit new to using VSTs. Currently I have the East West Quantum Leap Symphonic Orchestra Gold and I'm trying to use it in Reaper. I'm still trying to figure out how it all works, but I'm curious as to what VST programs you guys use. Like for this East West thing, I don't have any piano VSTs or acoustic guitar or anything like that. Any suggestions for good piano sounds?
And any tips on how to get started with using VSTs in your DAW? I can't seem to find the location for the EWQLSOG VSTs so I can tell Reaper where to find them...
Whatever advice you guys can give would be much appreciated. Thanks!

vsts are probably in program files/vst plugins/ but i mean you installed it so you should know

best freeware piano vsti is likely Joe's Jazz Piano

yeah, that's the exact path I'm telling Reaper to look in, and yet it's not giving me East West as an option! so aggravating. I know for sure it is there.

I'll check out Joe's Jazz Piano, thanks.

once i tried using TS' Secret in reaper, couldn't find it, and it turned out it just gave it a different name or something; try running every vsti that reaper lists as an option, one of them might be it. ¯\(º o)/¯

It's only showing me all the Rea-- VSTs and the JS: VSTs
=/

and there's a shit load of these, haha. I'm not about to try every single one...

1. Use the search feature of whatever system you are using (look for a .dll file).
2. Uninstall the orchestra, install it again and tell it exactly where you want to vst dll to go.
3. Use just 1 folder (with subfolders) for all your vsts eg: c:\vstplugins\

^that's exactly what I've done.

the problem I'm having now is that Joe's Jazz Piano is playing my midi file in a different key than I wrote it in, and it's clashing with my other instruments........what the effffffff. this recording shit is so frustrating =/