Wagner VST metal tones!

stringy_

Jul 10, 2006
Hi fellas. I'm a bit bashful about posting this here, especially since I've only been doing vocals for a week. But oh well...

I'm a broke college student, so here's the barebones details for anyone who cares...

The guitars are my Jackson w/EMG81, Wagner Sharp, SIR w/Guitarhack's impulses. The drums are DFH1 cymbals, lol!, Slate's free snare samples, Andy's kick and Chimaira toms. Bass is my Spector w/EMGs, MXR M-80 as a DI box.

This was mixed on multimedia 2.1 speakers, so I'm not sure how this will translate to proper monitors, but I have come to the conclusion that the Wagner + impulses kicks the poop out of my podXT for heavy tones.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=765562

I'm having to listen with these bass heavy/boomy headphones at work, but it sounds really good from what I hear! Wagner + GuitarHack impulses just slays. Just got through using it myself. Look forward to hearing it on proper speakers when I get home.

sounds great man...nice guitar sound can you give details on vocals they sound good too!

hey man any chance you could share your wagner setup/impulse choice with us?
it sounds pretty cool to my ears :) i like the sound of the guitars :) I think theres something.. i dont know.. missing from the drums, they dont seem to glue together, it feels like there is a space in there :S its not a cuss, i have the same problem :/

Thanks for the listen guys!

The vocals were a Studio Projects B1 and my M-Audio Audiobuddy set up in my apartment living room. I used the Kjarehus (that's totally misspelled) compressor to smash the shit out of them and then I tossed a big verb on it. I'm a huge fan of the early Opeth vocals that were swimming in verb, so I tried to recreate that here.

I really just started trying to learn how to do vocals without shredding my throat, I'm quite flattered and surprised that you like them. Thanks!