What Fretted basses make nice Fretless basses?

Tomass

New Metal Member
Aug 24, 2007
Hey guys im new to this forum, however not new to bass so im not a noob. Anyway ive been playing for almost 6 years and want to make the transition from playing a fretted bass to fretless, and the reason was from Individual Thought Patterns and Scariot Momentum Shift. Im considering selling my Lakland 55-02 as it just doesnt cut through the mix and i dont like the sound of it. At the moment ive been recording with the Ibanez SDGR which has a nice low mid growl and solid higher mid range. So either Steve or anyone else with experience, what bass either manufactured as fretless or fretted will cut through a metal mix, with a nice low mid growl. Warwick comes to mind, but id rather buy a Thumb and keep it as a fretted bass. The Bass Centre (australia) has the Cort B4 fretless and the B5s, couple of fender jazzes etc. Would a Cort B4 cut through a metal mix alright? or should i buy another Ibanez or even get an ESP and get a professional defret?

Great Forum by the way, and Steve you would appear as a godly figure if i didnt think that relgions are a crock of shit, your just a great inspiration to aspiring bassists in other words.

i like my pedulla hexabuzz. sweet tone, even acoustic.

be prepared to drop a few G's though
~gR~

carvin,spector,cort -my types:)
alltimers-musicman ,fender-these basses will cut through any mix :)

This is my opinion...
I think any good bass can sound good, *or cut through the mix. And any bad bass will always sound bad. It's not a matter of if the neck has frets or not. It's the overall character of the bass. It's an EQ thing, it's the way you play it thing, and mostly it's what you play. You can't hide behind people in a room and expect someone else to see you. You have to play stuff to get out of the shadows or being lost in the guitar and drum hell.