What is a Power conditioner?

Guitardude98

New Metal Member
Jan 25, 2012
Hey guys! A total newbie question. Ive heard people using power conditioners for their Axe-Fx and POD HD Pro and Eleven Rack. What is this power conditioner ,so to speak of? Thanks. :)

The term gets used pretty generally. In it's lowest form it's just a surge protector. Better ones offer some filtering to prevent noise from entering the system. Some (but very few) offer voltage regulation which will float voltage to prevent your gear from seeing sags or spikes.

A good power conditioner will not only keep the voltage constant, but will also give you a nice, clean sine wave - just 50/60hz free of any additional frequency dirt.
This will take care of random clicks that sometimes appear in your recordings when a thunderstorm comes or when some heavy electrical equipment gets turned on and off in your neighborhood and also will remove any alien frequencies that could creep in from the grid to make your noise floor smooth which is very important for recording DI guitar signal meant to be heavily amplified.

I see lots of dudes using them live. Does anyone use them in there studio? Also, what is considered a good one? Like the difference between a $300 one and a $100 one? Or is it like the difference between a $100 one and a $2000 one?

I see lots of dudes using them live. Does anyone use them in there studio? Also, what is considered a good one? Like the difference between a $300 one and a $100 one? Or is it like the difference between a $100 one and a $2000 one?

at a lot of studios you seen one at the top of every one of their racks.. these are the ones I like.. Furman PL8C. I use them in my home studio and at the radio station I work for, studios A and B. Cleans power up quite nicely.

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PL8C

The $100 one is probably a surge protector with a 15amp circuit breaker and a resistor across the ground to eliminate noise.